American Library Association

The American Library Association (ALA) announces the 2024 Youth Media Award winners. 

Below are a few of books we have in our catalog that are winners.

For more information on the award winners, click here

(click on book title image for a title peek)

2024 John Newbery Winners

John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature: “The Eyes and the Impossible,” written by Dave Eggers, is the 2024 Newbery Medal winner. The book is illustrated by Shawn Harris and published simultaneously by Alfred A. Knopf, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books, a division of Penguin Random House, and McSweeny’s.

Newbery Honor Books

2024 Coretta Scott King Winners

Coretta Scott King Author Honor Books:
“Big,” written and illustrated by Vashti Harrison and published by Little, Brown and Company, a division of Hachette Book Group, Inc.

“How Do You Spell Unfair?: MacNolia Cox and the National Spelling Bee,” written by Carole Boston Weatherford, illustrated by Frank Morrison and published by Candlewick Press.

Coretta Scott King Illustrator Book Winner:
“An American Story,” illustrated by Dare Coulter, is the King Illustrator Book winner. The book is written by Kwame Alexander and published by Little, Brown and Company, a division of Hachette Book, Inc.

Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor Books:

Christopher Paul Curtis is the winner of the Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement. The award pays tribute to the quality and magnitude of beloved children’s author Virginia Hamilton. As a historical fiction novelist, Curtis writes in accessible ways for emerging readers to understand the world around them. His novels have received numerous starred reviews and awards throughout ALA, like ALSC Notables, Odyssey, and YALSA Best Books for Young Adults. We see his influence all over Black creators today.

2024 Caldecott Honor Books:


2024 Schneider Family Book Award:

“The Fire, the Water, and Maudie McGinn,” written by Sally J. Pla and published by Quill Tree Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers is the winner for middle grades (ages 9 to 13).

Honor Book for Middle Grades:

2024 Pura Belpre

Youth Illustration & Children's Author award winner:

2024 Robert F. Sibert Honor Book

Children’s Literature Legacy Award

Children’s Literature Legacy Award honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children through books that demonstrate integrity and respect for all children’s lives and experiences. The 2024 winner is Pam Muñoz Ryan. Her award-winning works include a 2002 Pura Belpré Author Award for “Esperanza Rising;” a 2011 Pura Belpré Author Award for “The Dreamer;” a 2016 Newbery Honor for “Echo,” and a 2003 Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Honor for “When Marian Sang: The True Recital of Marian Anderson,” among others.


Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for the most distinguished beginning reader book: “Fox Has a Problem” written and illustrated by Corey R. Tabor, is the 2024 Geisel Award winner. The book is published by Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishing House.

American Indian Youth Literature Awards

American Indian Youth Literature Awards are announced in even years (e.g. 2022, 2024, 2026) and were established to identify and honor the very best writing and illustrations by and about American Indians and Alaska Natives. Selected titles present American Indians in the fullness of their humanity in the present and past contexts. This year’s winners include: Picture Book: “Forever Cousins,” written by Laurel Goodluck (Mandan & Hidatsa and Tsimshian), illustrated by Jonathan Nelson (Navajo/Diné) and published by Charlesbridge and “A Letter for Bob,” written by Kim Rogers (Wichita & Affiliated Tribes), illustrated by Jonathan Nelson (Navajo/Diné) and published by Heartdrum, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers; Middle Grade Book: “We Still Belong,” written by Christine Day (Upper Skagit), cover art by Madelyn Goodnight (Chickasaw Nation) and published by Heartdrum, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers.

The American Indian Youth Literature Awards Honor titles include:

Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature

Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature.  The award promotes Asian/Pacific American culture and heritage and is awarded based on literary and artistic merit. The award offers three youth categories including Picture Book, Children’s Literature and Youth/Young Adult Literature. The award is administered by the Asian Pacific American Librarians Association (APALA), an affiliate of the American Library Association.  This year’s winners include:
The Picture Book winner is “The Truth About Dragons,” written by Julie Leung, illustrated by Hanna Cha and published by Henry Holt and Co, an imprint of Macmillan Publishing Group. The committee selected one Picture Book honor title: “Finding Papa,” written by Angela Pham Krans, illustrated by Thi Bui and published by HarperCollins.

Book Talk with Ms. Gail

Book title: When Life Gives You Mangos
Author: Kereen Getten

(click on book cover for a title peek)


Listen to Ms. Gail talk about

the book and characters

in the YouTube video below.